5 simple tips for Creating the Space You Love

Where do you spend the most of your time when you are home? For some it may be in the kitchen, the living room, or your bedroom.

For me, away at college, the most time I spend inside of my apartment is in my bedroom. It’s very important that I make the best out of my space and add little trinkets, decor, and colors that describe me and my style.

IMG_0280 IMG_0270
1. Keep the bigger pieces neutral. I have been living in the same complex for 3 years so my bedroom has definitely evolved but thanks to my cream and quilted comforter and khaki bedroom sheets I have been able to rearrange and take out/add smaller pieces to change the look.

2. Colored furniture is a no-no. Okay, so this *paint everything bright* trend will more than likely go out in a few years and then you are stuck with this more than likely beautiful piece of furniture that can’t be stripped due to the red, or torquiose, or bright green paint that was put on it.

3. What are some of your favorite things? Every single piece, no lie, has been purchased at a discount or an antique/thrift store and they are all my favorite! Antlers from my Daddy, wooden “M” initial, my cow canvas print, a lamp I’ve had for 13 years that I covered with ruffled muslin. To me, all of these things tell a story and I love that.

IMG_0296
4. Go crazy with transitional pieces like pillows, rugs, and even pictures/prints. One of the things I love the most in my room is my steer print pillow from WAL MART, the coral Euro shams, and my newly purchased aztec rug from a furniture warehouse. They all are busy pieces and if I get tired of them, they can easily be stored away for another color/print/style that won’t hurt my budget because they were purchased at a great price.

5. Look around everywhere, in unexpected places, and never stop. It doesn’t matter where I’m at or what I’m doing, I’m always looking to be inspired by something. Unique finds and cool pieces are all around you and not necessarily always at the home decor store or craft store. I have found a few of my items in my childhood bedroom (lamps and cheetah print pillows), Christmas boutiques (deer necklace display that was actually ornaments & cotton stalks & twigs), all sorts of unexpected places. Everything I have gathered in my room has been over the course of 3 years and I never stop looking.

So here’s to creating the space you love, whether it takes a few months or a couple of years, love the space you live in!

XO Mindy

Leave a comment