Vanilla protein pancakes + thrifting+ my home away from home

photo (29)

This week has definitely been my “calm before the storm.” I start classes on Monday and I have a crazy busy schedule for this semester so I have had no problem with just chilling  out. The flowers in the above picture make me happy They were left over from a bridal shower my friend and I hosted for our friend, Kristin.

My New Room

I have had tons of fun decorating my new room and I don’t know what I would’ve done without my Mema, antique stores, Goodwill, all of my DIY crafts, and Pinterest. I took a few pictures yesterday to show everyone my home away from home. There are still things I need to arrange + add onto the wall but I feel like I am off to a good start. I ❤ my new room!

photo (30)

photo (31)

photo (33)

photo (34)

photo (32)

I really wish I wouldn’t have taken my room pictures using Instagram because the colors in my room are so much more lighter and brighter. Hopefully Santa Clause will come around and buy me that Canon Rebel I have my eye on!

Crafting + Thrifting

I also did some crafting yesterday twith one of my friend’s deer antlers!

antler craft

diy antler

Ah! It turned out so well. I am no perfectionist by any means but I ending up loving it. It holds all of my rings and bracelets. I actually hope to saw the “head off and overlap the two “spurs.”

I casually went in to Goodwill and a local antique store today just to kill time. I ended up finding some goodies all for under $11!! I was proud of my thrifty ways. I plan to use the bowl as a fruit bowl, and display the two vases in our living room and my room!

Pancakes

My free time allowed me to experiment with a new recipe this morning! I always see protein packakes on different blogs and Pinterest and honestly, mine always fail. I found the secret to a perfectly cooked pancake is using a high quality cooking pan, coconut oil as your pan base and cooking over medium heat.

Vanilla Protein Pancakes

  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 1 whole egg + 1 egg white
  • 1 tbsp ground flaxseeds
  • 1/4 cup plain greek yogurt
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Combine all ingredients in a medium boil. Melt coconut oil over medium heat. Cook pancake , flipping to cook the other side after you hear it sizzling.

PicMonkey Collage

Ta Da! The heart that formed on my pancake was just what I needed to put a little pep in my step this morning. I can see myself making this breakfast again and again. As a matter of fact, I am looking forward  to having it again in the morning.

Have a great afternoon!

xo, Mindy

Leave a Reply

