Back to the grind.

Happy Monday, people!

I’ve pretty much been on a two-week vacation- on both sides of the Florida coast (one for 7 days, other for 5)- and I am more than ready to just chill, get back to healthy eating, and exercise.

Anytime I visit other places whether it be vacation or visiting with family and friends, I never deprive myself of any foods. Just to show you I am a normal person and not a “health freak” twenty-four seven, I have added a list of just a few “unhealthy” foods I have eaten over the course of two weeks.

  • my favorite: fried foods (fish, shrimp, oysters, fries, zucchini, squash, fritters, pickles)
  • Little Debbie snacks
  • Coke, Sprite, Diet Coke
  • Doritos, Pringles
  • white bread, and white bread, and more white bread
  • Sour cream, ranch
  • McDonald’s bacon, egg, and cheese biscuit with hashbrowns

And DANG did it all taste so good. It’s funny though, as soon as I got home yesterday all I craved were healthy foods. Thankfully, my mom had just roasted a whole chicken stuffed with lemon, garlic, and basil. So delicious.

A few tactics I follow when I am “recovering” from vacation are:

  • Go grocery shopping and stock up on your favorite healthy staples (whole grains, lean proteins, and healthy fats.)
  • Drink water as soon as you wake up until you go to sleep.
  • If you don’t have enough energy to jump back into your normal exercise routine, take a long walk.
  • Always eat breakfast.
  • and most importantly, get some friggin’ SLEEP!

I definitely got 8+ hours of sleep last night and I was anxious for a healthy breakfast! I chugged a glass of water and started the coffee and got to work!

First, I make sure I have all of the ingredients needed for breakfast. I can’t tell you how many times I am in the middle of cooking and realize I am out of something.

The goods: whole-wheat wrap, natural peanut butter, mashed sweet potato, Love Grown granola. {Unpictured: all-natural honey}

I simply microwaved a steamable sweet potato <- so convenient), mashed the tater with a fork, spread the mashed on one side of the wrap, then spread 1 tablespoon of peanut butter, and sprinkled the granola to finish it off. Next I folded the wrap and heated it in a non-stick skillet.

This was insanely delicious and very filling! I actually wish I had added more peanut butter or made sure it got extra melty.

I am looking forward to a day of healthy eats and possibly a long walk or visit to the gym. Crossfit on the agenda for tomorrow!

peace and love and healthy living. Mindy

2 thoughts on “Back to the grind.

  1. I just wrote a very similar post to this! It’s difficult to always maintain such healthy eating during the Summer months but it definitely feels good to get back on track.

  2. Oh my gosh, that looks amazing!!!

    And yes, healthy eating is WAY harder in the summer!!! there are so many vacations and parties and events. Ugh! But when I’m home or I have the opportunity, I try to eat super clean, that way I can splurge when I want to!

Leave a Reply

