cheers.

A little blood, a few buckets of sweat, and a pool of tears.

Have you ever wanted something so bad that when you don’t get it the first time, you try again?

On Sunday, April 29,2012 I auditioned for the Atlanta Falcons Cheerleaders. I made the preliminary cut and then the semi-final cut advancing to the final auditions which took place Thursday, May 3, 2012. On Monday, I had an interview with the head director of AFC and the choreographer of AFC. On Tuesday, we 65 finalists were required to participate in a mandatory boot camp led by one of the AFC trainers. On Wednesday, we were required to attend a final practice and more dance was added on to the already learned dance. It may seem like alot, it is. Keep in mind, the time it takes to get ready, get to the different locations, buy/make appropriate outfits, and squeeze in practice and gym time.

To say this week was easy would be a lie. But it wasn’t supposed to be easy. To say I worked my butt off and did my absolute best would be an understatement. You see, this isn’t the first time I have gone through the same exact process resulting in the same exact outcome. I auditioned when I was 17 only to be told I was too young and to please come back. At 18, I wasn’t mentally or physically prepared, so at 19 I honestly felt like I was at the right place at the right time. You know when you just know?

Aside from a minor brain fart at final auditions, I danced my heart out.

I didn’t make the team.

I cried. and cried. and cried.

Prior to final auditions, I told my family if I didn’t make it I would accept that this isn’t for me and I would move on and not be upset.

Easier said than done, huh? How do you move on for something you want so bad? The thing that has stuck with you ever since that 8th grade memory book.

This is how.

It’s not going to be easy, though. It’s not supposed to be.

I’m going to dry up my last tear, wear the same smile I had on the dance floor, remain grateful for all of the support, and have faith that God has bigger and better plans for me.

Hard work pays off and eventually I know it will. It just didn’t on May 3rd.

Let go and let God.

xo. Mindy

3 thoughts on “cheers.

  1. This attitude will take you so far in life! Remember, everything happens for a reason and don’t give up!

Leave a Reply

