Seth’s Birthday

Today is a very special day! It’s my guy’s birthday! We’ve kept it pretty low-key around here, though. I treated him to a scrambled egg, bacon and toast breakfast. I even gave him extra bacon and toast!! 😉

Around 10 PM last night, I was browsing Pinterest and as soon as I saw a homemade birthday card on the feed, I freaked. I forgot to buy him a card! Wondering what on earth I was to do, especially since I left my craft bag at my mama’s, I had to get real creative and thrifty.

The “card” is the back of my Anatomy notebook that I simply cut with scissors and folded in half. I created the banner by cutting a thank-you card into triangles and stringing them onto some thread out of a emergency sewing kit. Inside which just so happened to be white, I wrote a special message that rhymes with “my dove two.” How is that for a cute, functional and cheap birthday card!

I also made key lime pie cupcakes. I’m still a little intimidated by making a full-on cake from scratch, and his mom is quite the cake baker so I tried to keep it simple. Simple but impressive. These turned out tasting so good! Especially the graham cracker crust.

Here is the link for the recipe for those interested: Key Lime Pie Cupcakes

We just got back from a Barnes&Noble trip per his request and we both bought books. I’ve really been trying to find some good books to read, especially since the summer is approaching. I haven’t always been a reader but am now finding out that it really helps to clear my mind. Plus, it’s good for the soul. If any of you have any book recommendations please do not be afraid to comment!

In other news– I have definitely been putting fitness on the back burner. I feel as though I go through certain phases where I go-go-go at the gym and then burn myself out after a few months. I’m still trying to find my mojo but I am not too worried about it.

I’ve really been loving fried egg and peanut butter on toast! Don’t knock it till’ you try it! It taste really, really good.

Have a great Wednesday!

xo. Mindy

Leave a Reply

