Biscotti be kidding me!

 When I first started reading healthy living blogs, I couldn’t help but notice the huge consumptions and variations of nut butters each blogger would use/eat. As someone who has been dipping her spoon into Jif since she was able to eat real food, I was interested to try other types of nut butters.

I first tried hazelnut butter- Nutella. I like it but peanut butter is better (in taste and health.) Next was sunflower seed butter- SunButter. I absolutely loved it! It’s perfect for someone with a peanut allergy but I honestly just love the taste. I then tried almond butter and fell in love with that. Most recently I have been processing raw almonds to make my own creamy almond butter. If I had to choose which nut butter I liked best it would be very hard! I think peanut butter and almond butter would be a tie and sunflower seed butter would be a close second!

After seeing all of the variations of nut butter, I then saw Biscoff popping up everywhere in the blog world. Also known as “cookie butter”, Biscoff spread is more of a treat! The above nut butters have heart-healthy fats and low(er) sugar with the exception of Nutella. I still was interested in trying Biscoff so my mom bought me some over the weekend. I definitely don’t like it on top of oatmeal- too, too sweet!

I came across a Biscoff granola recipe from Laura at SPRINT2THETABLE and decided to use her recipe as a base with my own twist. Julie over at Peanut Butter Fingers added honey in her peanut butter granola and I thought that would help to coat the nuts (pecans and cashews) and bind the oats together. The sweetness comes from the Biscotti, of course, chopped dried mango and dark chocolate!!!!! I added in chocolate chips within 5 minutes of the granola cooling down causing it to melt and coat the cooked granola. It ended up turning out so good that I am currently stuffed with granola!

Chocolate crunch Biscotti granola

Adapted from Sprint2theTable and Peanut Butter Fingers

3/4 cup raw, old-fashioned oats

1/2 cup halved pecans (from my grandparents front yard!!!)

1/2 cup cashews*

3 oz. or one package of dried mango, chopped

3 tbsp Biscotti spread

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp honey

1/2 cup dark chocolate chips (added after baking)

Preheat oven to 325F. 

Combine first 8 ingredients in a large bowl, mixing to combine.  

Spread oat mixture onto a baking sheet sprayed with non-stick cooking spray.  Bake for 30 mins. 

Let cool for 5 -8 mins, adding chocolate chips and a quick stir.  Let cool completely. Store in air-tight container.

*Note: I used roasted and salted cashews, so I added them the same time I added the chocolate chips. If you were to buy raw cashews they would bake with the other ingredients, of course.

 It seriously is the best!

3 thoughts on “Biscotti be kidding me!

  1. Thank for the link back! Your granola looks fantastic! I love how you added mangoes too.

    Pecans from your grandparents’ yard brings back memories… we used to pick them at my grandfather’s house in Arkansas. Good times. 🙂

Leave a Reply

