Whole Wheat Roasted Red Pepper + Mozzarella Pizza

Roasted red pepper. Caramelized shallots. Crispy bacon. Lots of cheese, always.

I came across this recipe on one of my favorite cooking blogs, How Sweet It Is. Jessica never fails to post delicious recipes and she narrates her blog so well. I enjoy reading her words as much as I enjoy her pictures and the actual food. Going into the oven, I expected this pizza to taste good and as soon as I took the first taste, it far exceeded my expectations. The variety of flavors is awesome-caramelized shallots and crisp bacon are two peas in a dang delicious pod.

So now that I gave everyone the love story of me + this pizza, let’s talk about the crust! Oh. muh. gawd. I honestly could eat the crust on it’s own. Seriously. I’ve posted a whole-wheat crust recipe here before, and while it is good, Jessica’s recipe is better than good. And it’s always better to be better? Right. She adds honey in the crust recipe which I think makes all the difference (in a good way.)

Whole Wheat Roasted Red Pepper + Fontina Pizza with Balsamic Glaze from How Sweet It Is

makes one pizza

dough: (my go-to recipe)

2 1/4 teaspoons (1 packet) active dry yeast

3/4 cup warm water

1 cup whole wheat flour

3/4 cup all-purpose flour

1 tablespoon honey

1/2 tablespoon olive oil

1/2 teaspoon salt

In the bowl of your electric mixer with an attached dough hook, combine warm water, yeast, honey and oil and mix with a spoon. Let sit for 10-15 minutes until foamy, then add in flour and salt. Mix on low speed until just combined, then turn to medium speed to knead the dough for 5-6 minutes. If it seems to sticky, add a bit more flour 1 tablespoon at a time.

Brush a separate bowl with olive oil, add dough, turning once, then set in a warm place to rise for 1 1/2-2 hours. Cover with a damp towel.

***I didn’t have an electric mixer, so with a bit of biceps and elbow grease I hand-mixed the dough like they did in the good ole days.

pizza:

2 slices thick-cut bacon

2 shallots, thinly sliced

2 roasted red peppers, cut into strips

1 tablespoons olive oil

2 garlic cloves, minced or pressed

6 ounces freshly grated fontina cheese (I used grated, fresh mozzarella)

2 ounces freshly grated romano cheese + more for topping if desired

1 1/2 cups balsamic vinegar

Right before dough is almost finished rising, heat a skillet over medium heat. Add bacon and cook until crispy and fat is rendered. Remove with a slotted spoon, then add shallots and stir to coat. Cook for about 10 minutes over low heat, or until shallots begin to caramelize. Set aside. While shallots are cooking, make sure that red peppers are patted dry (if from a jar). If you’d like to make your own roasted red peppers, see here.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

Once pizza dough is ready to go, roll/press into desired shape and brush the surface with olive oil and top with minced garlic. Sprinkle on 4 ounces of fontina cheese, then top with shallots, red peppers, and bacon. Sprinkle remaining fontina and romano evenly on top. Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until crust is golden and cheese is bubbly.

While pizza is baking, heat vinegar in a small saucepan over medium heat. Allow to come to a boil, then let simmer and cook for about 15-20 minutes until reduced to about 1/3-1/2 cup. Set aside to cool for at least 10 minutes to thicken. When pizza is finished baking, drizzle glaze on top and serve.

I’ve never cooked with or tasted (that I know of, atleast) shallots. Onions have never bothered my eyes, but as soon as I started slicing the first one my eyes were burning and crying like crazy. You’d think I would’ve gotten pepper-sprayed. Now I refer to shallots as balls of pepper spray, and I fought to the end like a champ. It’s amazing what people do for love.

Me + pizza = Forever and always.

4 thoughts on “Whole Wheat Roasted Red Pepper + Mozzarella Pizza

  1. Seriously, it’s like 10 in the morning…I just finished breakfast…and you have me drooling all over myself with that pizza! Caramelized onions/shallots are THE best…I can only imagine the combo of that flavor with the bacon. And I’m definitely trying out that crust recipe the next time I make a pizza. I usually grab up the ones at TJ’s for 99 cents, but you’ve got me curious about the honey wheat now!

Leave a Reply

