To: S.O.S.

Love: Me

Since I had a special Valentine to cook bacon hearts for yesterday and I was given a bouquet of roses fruit,  I want you to be my Valentine today. There’s nothing wrong with celebrating a day late. It’s me and you today. Deal?

In true clueless nut fashion, we will be celebrating with food. Personally I think that is the best Valentine ever. Roses and someridiculousjewelryshop bracelet just doesn’t taste as darn delicious as chocolate or bacon or chocolate bacon*.

*Note: I’ve never tried chocolate bacon but everything is better with chocolate.

Will you be the turkey to my bacon?

The fried egg to my cheese?

The pesto to my mayonnaise?

The lettuce to my tomato?

The salt to my pepper?

Good.

 And since you declared that to be the most delicious sandwich in the world but demanded something romantic I took my gift a step further. There’s nothing like a bossy and lovey-dovey, mushy-gushy Valentine. Ugh!

I decided to knock out two chocolates with one spatula and baked goodies far better than Russell Stover could. Seriously, I did.

Double Chocolate Cupcakes with strawberry cream cheese frosting

[adapted from chocolate lover’s cupcakes]

makes 6 cupcakes

1/2 cup + 1 tbsp all purpose flour

3 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder

3/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1 large egg

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 cup milk of choice (I used almond milk, chocolate milk is recommended in the original)

1/4 cup heavy cream

1/4 cup butter (or half a stick), melted and cooled

1 tablespoon sour cream

2/3 cup chocolate chips (I used Nestle’s dark)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

In a bowl, whisk egg and sugar until smooth and no lumps remain. Add milk, cream, butter and vanilla, and mix until combined. Stir in sour cream. Sift dry ingredients together and add to wet mixture. Mix until batter is smooth. Line a muffin tin with liners and using a 1/4 cup measure, add batter to each cup. Top the batter with chocolate chips allowing some to rest on top and others sink down. Bake for 15 minutes. Let cool before frosting.

**I cheated and used reduced fat whipped strawberry cream cheese spread for the icing. It worked perfect but I’m sure if you search around, a strawberry cream cheese frosting recipe can be found**

I might be biased but I think I may be your best Valentine yet.

Leave a Reply

