WIAW

It’s that time of the week again… ahem, I said week not month. HA! The time for all of the nosy (that’s me!) and curious foodies to come together and snoop into everyone else’s day of eats. I love seeing all of the different meals each week. My favorite part is when people who eat very similar to me. Ya’ll know the way  to my heart mouth.

Whoever said convenience and eating healthy is impossible told a lie because from the look of all three of my meals, each of them are very convenient and cooked up in just a few minutes!

I’ve really been loving over-night oatmeal lately. It’s the quickest, healthiest and most delicious breakfast when I only have a total of five minutes to eat. I was so happy when I noticed a nearly empty jar of nut butter to serve as my bowl. I simply whisked my oatmeal mixture in the jar and put the lid back on to chill in the fridge until the AM.

  Blueberry-banana muesli

  • 1/3 cup old fashioned oatmeal
  • a 6 ounce container of greek yogurt
  • a few splashes of almond milk
  • 1/2 of a mashed banana
  • sprinkle of cinnamon
  • a small spoonful of ground flax seed
  • 1/2 of sliced banana added in the AM
  • handful of blueberries added in the AM

**If you’re an overnight-oatmeal connoisseur then I’m sure you can agree there’s not quite anything better than the nut butter attaching to the end of your spoon when dipping into the oatmeal. YUM!! Oats in a Jar also means less dishes. Double whammy!**

Lunch was eaten before two very challenging work outs. I always eat lunch before a work out to provide me with the nutrients and energy required to push me through. I toasted the english muffin the same time I made my oatmeal the night before. On the side, I had a romaine salad and an apple.

Toppings on the wanna-be bagel bites: marinara, green pepper, tomato, and cheddar (all packed separately, added at lunchtime, and microwaved to melt cheese.) Simple yet delicious!

Romaine salad on the side: romaine (oh, really?), carrots, red cabbage, red onion, green pepper, crumbled feta and a serving size of parmesan-asiago balsamic vinaigrette.

A red delicious apple rounded out the meal.

This meal was just enough fuel to power me through a kick-boxing class and a boot camp class (whew!). I also ate half of a banana during my ten minute break between the two classes.

The above iced coffee (coffee+skim milk) was a much needed snack to cool me off from the two fitness classes and keep me awake during my speech class following just thirty minutes after my work out. I’m THAT sweaty girl in class. A few almonds were gobbled down, too.

I was starving when I arrived home around 7:30. As soon as I walked into the door, I was heating up a skillet and quickly sautéing chopped vegetables and scramblin’ eggs.

  • 2 eggs
  • red onion
  • green pepper
  • tomatoes
  • black beans
  • S&P

Left-over guacamole on a slice of sprouted grain toast on the side.

And two dried figs filled with crunchy almond butter for dessert.

To be completely honest, my stomach grumbled almost an hour and a half after supper and after noticing a lack of protein (no meat), I blended up a peanut butter protein smoothie. Greek yogurt+ almond milk+ frozen banana+ peanut butter+ half scoop of chocolate protein powder+ cinnamon+ ice chunks. ‘Twas delicious.

Happy What I Ate Wednesday! As always, Thanks to the mastermind behind the foodie party, Jenn! ❤

One thought on “WIAW

Leave a Reply

